Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Author Topic: First start EEPROM not responding  (Read 209 times)

duncos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
First start EEPROM not responding
« on: September 20, 2019, 13:32:58 »

Hi,
I bougth pre programmed ICs and a PCB. I soldered the parts. When I'm connecting the power supply and the board to the PC the link LED is blinking quickly but the status LED do nothing. I see the board in the utility but I cn't configure that. EEPROM is not responding.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=13APba7nxRgxLiVcLcwT25eemXNVODhjw
https://drive.google.com/open?id=139hOYh-fn3UtWiX6fNlgK2IPdlkH7zqh

So what can I do?
Thank a lot!
Logged

mramirez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: First start EEPROM not responding
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2019, 19:51:34 »


Hi Duncos. I am not an expert, I have started recently using AstroEQ and, as any newbie, I have got to fight with my own troubles.
By Tom’s leave, I write down some steps hopping they help with your issues. 

1-   Run astroEQ.exe
2-   Comport led blinks
3-   Select a comport
4-   Click on “update Firmware”
5-   If everything goes well, Status led should go ON
6-   If click on “NEXT”, the "AstroEQ Configuration Setup" window should appear.
8-   Click on the Folder icon and select the appropriated conf file
9-   Do the changes that you need, and click on “update”. In each axis.
10-   Click on “Done”, and the conf settings will upload to the AstroEQ.
11-   If everything goes well. EQMOD will pop up, and you should hear some kind of noise showing that motors are connected.

I hope this can help you.

Mateo

P.S. You did not need to solder the junpers, they are already made in the other side of the board (excep for the junpers to select the motor drivers)
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: First start EEPROM not responding
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2019, 23:05:55 »

Hi,

The ATMega is sent out programmed only with a bootloader. This is enough to allow the config utility to program the ATMega without any special hardware (through the same USB cable as EEPROM configuration and EQMOD communications).

I program the chips in large batches so in the time it takes to sell them all, I may release firmware updates, so it is simpler just to put on only the bootloader and to let the config utility upload the firmware. It only takes a few seconds.

As a result first time out you will need to click the "Update Firmware" button before trying to configure the EEPROM.


As Mateo points out, you don't need to solder on all the wires (it won't hurt, so no point removing them) as these are connected on the board. The silkscreen lines are because the PCB design can be home-etched onto single sided PCB material, in which case the wires would be necessary.

It is only the two solder jumpers SJ1 and SJ2 that need to be soldered.
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

duncos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: First start EEPROM not responding
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2019, 00:15:09 »

Yes I did exactly that. The firmware update doesn't work also. Programmer is not responding.

And yes the wires I know but I tried everything. :)

But thanks!!
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: First start EEPROM not responding
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2019, 00:33:15 »

Are you connecting the 12V supply first, before the USB connection? If not make sure you do.

I presume you see the AstroEQ COM port in device manager?
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

duncos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: First start EEPROM not responding
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2019, 09:40:59 »

Yes I connected the 12V supply first than the USB. Exactly I see the AstroEq COM port in device manager but....

Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: First start EEPROM not responding
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2019, 10:27:51 »

I assume the power LED is on?

If you connect pins 7 and 9 of the USB-Serial PIC, then use a terminal (e.g. putty) to send data to the serial port, do you see it echoed back?
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

duncos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: First start EEPROM not responding
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2019, 19:45:52 »

Yes, power LED is on.

Not first time but I could open the COM port in Putty. But I don't know this program. What have I do now?
« Last Edit: September 22, 2019, 20:06:11 by duncos »
Logged