Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Author Topic: AstroEQ and Windows XP  (Read 3615 times)

blueeyesfish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
AstroEQ and Windows XP
« on: January 23, 2015, 12:25:42 »

Hello all,

I have just purchased the AstroEQ and I am very excited!
But, I'm running windows xp with sp3 and all updates.
I downloaded all the divers for all and that took some time but now have them all...
All connected to the motors and pc with all the lights working and go to the AstroEq configUtilliy
double click on the astroeq firmware and the utility pops up select the com and not sure about the firmware but use the
main one astroeq v4-diy board...? "V7.3" OK good up until the astroeq configuration setup set all settings and push on the done.
Connect error timeout on the Eqmod heq5/6 ?     
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: AstroEQ and Windows XP
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2015, 18:29:05 »

Hi,

Is EQMOD installed? If so, you will probably need to manually set the COM port using the eqmod toolbox - it seems that on XP the config utility is sometimes unable to set the COM port automatically, not sure why.

Try connecting the EQMOD with CdC (or other star chart software), you will probably find once you have set the COM port that all works fine :).
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

blueeyesfish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: AstroEQ and Windows XP
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2015, 01:14:09 »

Hi,
Thanks Tom that helped! Just have to work out the motor drive speeds... And the odds and ends  :)
So far so good cant wait to get it all working!!!!
Again thanks! :)


Gilles
Logged

blueeyesfish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: AstroEQ and Windows XP
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2015, 12:08:46 »

Just wanted to say that I got it all up and running but the only problem now is,
the dec motor gets very hot! I tried rebooting and turning down the current but no changed...?
It works but for how long I don't know...Could there be another problem?

Any help on this would be grateful!

Gilles
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: AstroEQ and Windows XP
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2015, 17:50:20 »

« Last Edit: May 25, 2015, 00:03:14 by TCWORLD »
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)