Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 10

Author Topic: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)  (Read 41301 times)

pierrebex

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #60 on: February 10, 2017, 11:53:21 »

Hello,
I have tried the new version; it is working well; the only problem I see is that, on a goto, the mount is going back and forth a few times before stopping to the target...
Best regards
Pierre
Logged

Smokie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #61 on: February 10, 2017, 12:18:27 »

succes,uploaded the new version and will test it now(picture test room)
gr Henk
Logged

PhilCrompton

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #62 on: February 10, 2017, 12:22:39 »


When you try to run the config, in the debug window how long does it take between printing "Awaiting Response..." and printing "null"? Is it on the order of 10 seconds, or is it instantaneous?

Hi Tom,

Just timed it and it takes roughly 7 seconds between the "Awaiting Response ..." and the null.

Sorry I couldn't to this earlier.

Phil

p.s. Just caught up on the rest of the thread. Saw you have posted a new update after your resistor moment. Downloaded this and it all works fine (as far as I can tell without actually connecting my Ardino EQ to the mount). Great work. Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2017, 12:36:06 by PhilCrompton »
Logged

Smokie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #63 on: February 10, 2017, 12:55:56 »

Hello Tom,

changing direction goes pretty smooth
All functions work as far as I've used them

will test some more

so far so good

gr,Henk
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #64 on: February 10, 2017, 18:12:34 »

This means that the Config test step cannot work successfully unless you unplug the USB cable and plug it in again before you click the Next button on the "Configuration Stored Successfully!! screen

I've confirmed that the problem is due to the bootloader for the Arduino Mega2560 being very flaky when it comes to its handling of the watchdog. The Mega 2560 I have is 4 years old so has an old bootloader that exhibits the same problem.

After a bit of reading around, I've flashed the newer (2013) bootloader from the Arduino github:
https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/blob/master/hardware/arduino/avr/bootloaders/stk500v2/stk500boot_v2_mega2560.hex

Having flashed that bootloader the problem is resolved - it can now run the test step without having to unplug the USB.

If you have another Arduino to hand or some other AVR programmer, I would highly advise anyone with an Arduino Mega 2560 version (doesn't affect the Mega 1280 or AstroEQ boards) to flash the new bootloader. Even many of the new production boards and clones use the old bootloader, so even if you bought it after 2013 it will likely need updating.
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #65 on: February 10, 2017, 21:04:15 »

Hello,
I have tried the new version; it is working well; the only problem I see is that, on a goto, the mount is going back and forth a few times before stopping to the target...
Best regards
Pierre

I've had a look and there does indeed seem to be an issue somewhere causing the deceleration to overshoot, hence the back and forth. I'm looking into it.. I've found where the issue lies - I was multiplying the deceleration length by 8 in one place when high-speed goto's are used, but then multiplying it by 8 a second time in another place accidentally. As a result it was overshooting by a small amount.

I'll upload some corrected hex files shortly once I've done some more verification.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2017, 21:08:53 by TCWORLD »
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

VladimirS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #66 on: February 10, 2017, 21:24:34 »

Hi!

Now trying to upload new firmware to Arduino 2560 however getting "Read Failed. Connection unavailable" after clicking Configure button.

First thing I did wrong - tried to configure EEPROM with old firmware, config utility suggested to repair it, I proceeded. Then I uploaded .hex using avrdude and then using config utility again. I uploaded previous firmware I used, now configuration works well.

I saw the commentary about resistor. Does it cause the issue? Sorry, haven't got the idea yet.

Thank you.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2017, 21:27:41 by VladimirS »
Logged

Smokie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #67 on: February 10, 2017, 22:59:13 »

always thought the small corrections just before the objekt was an EQMOD issue

gr Henk
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #68 on: February 11, 2017, 10:33:47 »

always thought the small corrections just before the objekt was an EQMOD issue

There is usually one correction after the go-to, but at the moment something is causing it to overshoot even on the corrections so it ends up never quite getting to the target. I'm working on tracking it down.
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #69 on: February 11, 2017, 11:54:32 »

Right, tracked down the mistake. The calculations of the deceleration distance were out by 1 step for each entry in the table, which actually ends up being about 2000 steps out when all is said and done! Additionally there was a <= sign in the decel routines which should have be <.

New hex files are attached, just extract the zip into the hex folder of the config utility and upload the firmware.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 13:00:10 by TCWORLD »
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

Smokie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #70 on: February 11, 2017, 13:03:25 »

Morning Tom,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsdwycOlzT8

test video , only small corrections left near object

i can live with that :)

Gr,Henk
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #71 on: February 11, 2017, 13:16:13 »


test video , only small corrections left near object


Could you download the new hex files. Looking at the number of downloads on the files, I think I added a new version just after you downloaded it as I found another issue. Looking at your video what you are seeing appears to be the problem I corrected (very large overshoot followed by a few small corrections).
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

Smokie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #72 on: February 11, 2017, 13:25:25 »

downloaded from post 1 and than the result is like in the prscr attatced

gr Henk
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #73 on: February 11, 2017, 13:31:20 »

Unplug power/USB and plug it back in again (power first). Weird windows glitch.
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

Smokie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: [Completed] AstroEQ 8.0.3(beta)
« Reply #74 on: February 11, 2017, 13:32:04 »

sorry ;) had to unplug all first now its oke will test some more

gr Henk
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 10