AstroEQ Discussion Board

AstroEQ Forum => AstroEQ Support => Topic started by: Smokie on June 13, 2019, 13:38:11

Title: problem with Java
Post by: Smokie on June 13, 2019, 13:38:11
hello

im trying to start the aq conf but it asks for a Java inviroment 1.8.0

if installed this but no changes

any sugg??

wr Henk
Title: Re: problem with Java
Post by: TCWORLD on June 13, 2019, 23:34:37
Did you install the 32-bit version?

Could you run the Debug (https://github.com/TCWORLD/AstroEQ/raw/master/AstroEQ-ConfigUtility/AstroEQDebug.exe)version, which should give more details.
Title: Re: problem with Java
Post by: Smokie on June 14, 2019, 10:19:16
Hello Tom thanks for the respons havent used it for a year, new pc,old software versions etc indeed java version was the trick!will exp further skils are a bit rusty😶 all the best from holland!
Title: Re: problem with Java
Post by: Smokie on June 14, 2019, 13:57:43
well another day of experimenting ;)

installed ascom 6.4.1
EQ mod 2.0
AEQ 3.9.0-8.1.16
hardware v 4.3 purchaced at Tom

in the past al worked wel with older versions
havend used it a year

cant get it working anymore >:(

connection with EQ mod seem to be the problem?

loading to/from EEprom is also a problem?

run debug as a att

maby you can help me back on track?

wr Henk

Title: Re: problem with Java
Post by: Smokie on June 15, 2019, 11:13:57
hello Tom

have tried everything several times
cannot configure eeprom
EQ mod gives connection error
am at the end of my options :-\ ;)

wr Henk
Title: Re: problem with Java
Post by: Smokie on June 15, 2019, 13:32:48
 :)found a copy of the old 7.4 conf tried that and all is possible and working with my 4.3 contr version ;D

fore now i leaf it this way

wr Henk
Title: Re: problem with Java
Post by: TCWORLD on June 15, 2019, 16:56:39
Hi Henk,

V4.3 hardware is possibly the issue. In the later hardware versions there was a resistor added which is used for hand controller detection. Without this resistor the new firmware will not be able to run detection properly and incorrectly switch into push-button mode.

To remedy this, you'll need to add a 1K resistor pins 12 and 31 of the ATMega162 (IC1) which should allow the older hardware to support the newer firmware.
If your board has the ST-4 connector attached, you should also solder a wire between pin 12 of the ATMega162 and pin 1 of the ST-4 connector (the pin closest to JP2 on the board).

Kind Regards,
Tom.
Title: Re: problem with Java
Post by: Smokie on June 15, 2019, 20:59:52
Thanks Tom i will leave it this way for now im not using a handcontoller and making chances to the hardware is beond my skills :-\ i will use the 7.4 version i have found on a old usb stick
Luck if copyed that a wile back

Thanks fore your work at the forum despite your busy work

Wr Henk
Title: Re: problem with Java
Post by: TCWORLD on June 15, 2019, 23:44:24
Not to worry.

Also, should you need them again, all versions of the firmware and config utility can be found on the Github page (https://github.com/TCWORLD/AstroEQ/commits/master/Downloads) in the commit history. I suppose I could update the version history on the downloads page to point the the corresponding commits.

Tom.