Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560  (Read 528 times)

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« on: January 12, 2020, 12:49:47 »

Hello,

First, I wanted to thank Tom again for registering on the forum!

What exactly is the program I need to download in arduino IDE for mega 2560?

I have found a lot of files, is it the file << firmware astroeq file INO >>?

Does the mega 2560 have to be connected to the computer before downloading it?

Excuse me for the translation but I am French and I will do my best to be understood by the community!

thank you so much

Pierre
Logged

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2020, 21:06:29 »

I downloaded the download for window 10 and I tried to send the arduino mega 2560.hex file in the arduino, but I have an error on a coding line, so I don't know if it must rename the file for arduino, I'm a little lost in the use of all this!

The file may be bad, or should you take the right file?

Thanks for your help !

Pierre
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 757
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2020, 21:54:09 »

Hi Pierre,

The firmware is precompiled, so all you need to do is download the config utility (https://www.astroeq.co.uk/downloads.php), run the AstroEQ.exe file, and select the Arduino Mega option from the drop down. Full instructions for the config utility are here (https://www.astroeq.co.uk/tutorials.php?link=config).

Kind Regards,
Tom
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2020, 18:19:22 »

Thanks Tom!
I downloaded the utility and connect the arduino mega 2560, but it cannot read the eeprom, I have an error message!

Is this a bootloader problem?

Where can I find the correct bootloader?

I think I need an AVR ISP programmer but which one?

Thank you so much,

Pierre
Logged

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2020, 22:36:14 »

Tom,

You noted this in one place!

Updating Bootloader

The latest version of the bootloader is already included in the Arduino IDE version 1.6.7 or newer. You can simply use the Burn Bootloader option in the Arduino IDE. This will require an AVR programmer.

I have version 1.8.9 and I can't find burn bootloader option!

Which AVR programmer compatible with the arduino mega 2560 can I buy?

Pierre
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 757
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2020, 08:40:03 »

Have you clicked the Upload Firmware button in the config utility - you will need to do this first before trying to configure.
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2020, 17:23:51 »

Tom thank you!

Yes Tom the firmware is passed without problem, but in configure it does not want to read the eprom, error message (or line) 021!

I ordered an Arduino Uno to flash the bootloader, because I have to know where I'm going, and then it will teach me things at this level!

thank you,

Pierre
Logged

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2020, 16:41:37 »

Thanks Tom,

I would like to try to program with an Arduino Uno transformed into an AVR programmer + this special 40-pin card which is intended to go with the Uno!

https://www.tindie.com/products/mfkamprath/programmer-shield-for-avr-dip40/

Sorry Tom but I don't understand the procedure, it's not clear to me, optiboot.exe, already I can't find this file!

See you later, and thank you again,

Pierre
Logged

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2020, 13:15:00 »

Tom,

Well I did not succeed in flashing the bootloader of the mega2560 with the arduino Uno, but obviously by changing the computer it seems to have worked, the utility read the eprom and loaded the program apparently, now I need to connect the card with the drivers + the motors for the tests!

I'll keep you posted!

Have a good day !

Pierre
Logged

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2020, 11:25:57 »

Hello,

Before connecting and making errors, I wanted to know if this diagram is correct, if there are not or have been modifications to be made?

For the tests do I have to connect R21 (1k) between SCL and pin 23 of the arduino mega?

Can I test the ST4 port by simply making contacts?

The contact link for the buttons is ground or the link on R21?

Can I power the motors with the same 12v power supply as the Arduino board?

Why are the motor wire connections reversed on the output connectors, for example B1 B2 are not next?

Was the diagram made for a special use of cables?

Is it a coil between B1 and B2 and the other between A1 and A2?

Thank you so much,

Regards,

Pierre
« Last Edit: January 19, 2020, 12:11:26 by ecc2000 »
Logged

TCWORLD

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 757
    • View Profile
    • AstroEQ
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2020, 13:45:15 »

1. Correct, the schematic shows R21's location between D21 (SCL) and D23
2/3. ST-4 pins connect to ground to trigger motion in the corresponding direction.
4. Yes.
5. The motors wiring is as per the schematic.
6. See https://www.astroeq.co.uk/tutorials.php?link=faqs#making_connections for cable connectivity.
 
Logged
Tom Carpenter (AstroEQ)

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2020, 13:57:37 »

Thanks Tom!

So it is just crossed for the standard of RJ11 cables in the end?

Pierre
Logged

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2020, 19:02:48 »

Good evening,

For the tests, I fed the arduino mega with an external 12v power supply by the power jack, and as soon as I plugged the USB connector the power supply on the power jack, the power supply collapsed at 2 , 5v, now if I plug the 12v on the jack no LED will light, and no 3.3v and 5v, on the pins out!

Operation ok with the USB on the other hand!

Either the arduino was dead before, or you should not connect the usb and a power supply at the same time?
Pierre
« Last Edit: January 19, 2020, 19:05:07 by ecc2000 »
Logged

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2020, 19:23:21 »

Everything is ok, in fact at my company they gave me a power cable whose mass is in the center, as there is a white mark on one of the two wires I was convinced that it was the + but no it is the mass !

Fortunately there is the protective diode on the arduino!

There are days it's better to rest !!! hi !!!

A +

Pierre
Logged

ecc2000

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Astroeq with Arduino mega 2560
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2020, 12:25:26 »

Hello,

I connected everything!

USB connected.

The Arduino mega 2560 is powered by a 12v power supply.

V motor on the same 12v supply.

The + 5v for the drivers is taken from the arduino pin 5v.

The mass for the drivers is taken from the arduino pin GND.

The motors are not blocked when I turn on the AD power supply does not turn, the regulator on the arduino starts to heat, I do not understand!

The drivers are DRV8825.

The motors are 6-wire, but I saw that you had to use only four wires and leave the midpoints of the coils unconnected.

Everything else is well connected!

do you need a separate power supply to supply + V motor (drivers)?

Thank you

Pierre
Logged
Pages: [1] 2